BSJ

DSCN6308

The BSJ (Baby Surprise Jacket): that infamous Elizabeth Zimmermann pattern. Knit flat, like a baby blanket, but fold it the right way, sew the shoulder seams and ta da- a jacket. The folding bit is the best part. I find the pattern itself simple, but figuring put how to mark the increases and decreases…it’s a puzzle I solve differently every time (because I can’t remember how I did it the first time!).

Because the BSJ is was designed as a jacket its a tad long, or the sleeves are a tad short, at least that’s how it seems to me.  I had forgotten that or else I would have attempted a few modifications. There are pages on Ravelry, dedicated just to the BSJ, full of ideas and how-tos. I also haven’t figured out how to intentionally size the BSJ.  In the photo above Molly is wearing the BSJ I made for Ishmael. It fits her well at three months, made out of self striping sport weight yarn and size 4 needles. Using the exact same pattern, but worsted weight yarn and size 8 needles, the BSJ below is far larger – 24 months. Better to be too big than too small, I say.

DSCN6313mossy_stone

5 thoughts on “BSJ

  1. OK. So could I actually knit one in those in teal purple colors in my size & how much yarn would I need? Because I love it. Is the yarn self striping? jaja

  2. Gorgeous yarn you’ve used for the bottom one. I’ve made a couple of BSJ’s in my time, it’s magic when you fold them and suddenly this shapeless form becomes a cosy jacket

  3. Pingback: A Quick Knit and Bacon Experiment | mossgrownstone

Share Your Thoughts

