When Goats Eat Your Trees

Two things you should know about goats: 1) if there’s a way to get out they’ll find it and 2) once they’re out they will eat kill your trees. This is true any time of year but especially so during the winter when the snow pack renders the fence about 1 foot high and trees are the only thing available to eat. Besides the ample, but less desirable, hay in their barn.

The goats sampled many trees this winter. One of them was our lilac tree. All it took was 5 seconds and they had killed it. I have a faint hope that maybe a shoot or two that was buried deep beneath the snow will survive and grow. The outlook is pretty grim.

Anyways, I have a few ideas to put the wood to use. One of them was to whittle a crochet hook. It’s actually really easy. I haven’t sanded it yet but it works just fine.

DSCN6163

The branch I started with:

DSCN6118DSCN6160mossy_stone

sharing with:

KCCO

6 thoughts on “When Goats Eat Your Trees

    • Thanks. I feel a little better about the tree when I use the wood. I just happened to recently come across some photos from last year with the tree in full bloom- it was gorgeous!

    • It was an experiment but I think future ones could be made will a particular size in mind. This one is size I (or J?) . Just start with a branch slightly larger than the hook you want and keep whittling away. I use a gauge identifier (or what ever it’s called) to standardize it.

Share Your Thoughts

