On the Go-veralls

After figuring out how to knit and purl my first project was a pair of On the go-veralls. Noah was 2 or 3 at the time. It was a bit ambitious but I wanted to knit something besides a scarf. Why not jump in with both feet!

100_1223 100_1224Luckily for me they turned out well. Now, I think the yarn drapes  a bit too much. They are super comfy!

Ever since, the On the go-veralls have been on my mental make again list. So when my Grandmother sent me a lovely knit baby blanket plus a skein of yarn I knew just what to do with it.

DSCN6066 DSCN6068 DSCN6081 DSCN6083

Even though I made the 0-6 month size these are pretty big on Molly right now. I thought they might be as the leg was looking more like a sleeve for me! However, my gauge was spot on so I went with it. During the hip section I had an ominous feeling that I wasn’t going to have enough yarn to finish. Luckily I had a little wool left over from one of the Liza Rose scarflettes. So I added it in as stripes. Together they were exactly enough. Funny how that works out sometimes!

I expect Molly will fit into these in another 2-3 months (around 6 months).

mossy_stone

sharing this post with KCCO and Yarn Along

15 thoughts on “On the Go-veralls

  1. They look really nice! Happy to hear that they were your first project since I’ve thought about learning how to knit but think it would be dull to start with one of those “beginner-scarfs”

    • Exactly. I put off learning how to knit for the longest time thinking I’d have to knit endless scarves and other unwanted items for the sake of learning. But its not true. Once you know how to knit & purl I think it’s just a matter of following a pattern one stitch at a time. There are still mistakes and a learning curve but making something you actually want is so much more rewarding.

  2. These are totally awesome! Really – one of the coolest things I have seen done with yarn! Maybe if I start mid-summer they’ll be ready by Fall for my little babe. (who will be 2 by that point!)

  3. Pingback: The Cuteness Factor | mossgrownstone

Share Your Thoughts

