The Apple Cider Vinegar Experiment {Part 1 – The Set Up}

There have been a lot of questions (in relation to this post on apple cider vinegar & making a mother) about whether store brought apple cider vinegar (ACV) can be used as a medium for the mother of vinegar. To answer this question I have introduced the mother to a jar of store brought ACV to see if 1. a mother will form and, if so, 2. if the mother will continue to grow on only store brought ACV. To compare growth and timelines I have also started a jar with the same amount of mother to apple juice, as well as a jar of only store brought ACV to see if a mother will spontaneously develop.

For the mother I am using Bragg’s ACV with the mother. Each jar (except for the pint of straight ACV) contains either 3 cups of store brought ACV or 3 cups of apple juice plus a generous 1/4 cup of Bragg’s ACV with the mother. My jar of Bragg’s was rather old so the vinegar had more visible mother sediment than a new jar does.

The jars, labeled and color coded. Red is ACV plus the mother, blue is apple juice plus the mother and green is straight ACV. These were all started on March 1st. My house is rather cool so things may take a while.

DSCN5726

The only development so far is a slight cloudiness from the jar of Braggs.

DSCN5732Updates to come as they develop.

mossy_stone

3 thoughts on “The Apple Cider Vinegar Experiment {Part 1 – The Set Up}

  1. Great idea, we run a blog dedicated to apple cider vinegar and very curious as to the results of your little experiment. Be sure to keep us posted. AcvHub 🙂

  2. Looking forward to seeing your results, too! I know this next comment should have gone in the other post, but my browser is crying from so many comments 😦

    I saw you (I think it was you) mention in the comment section from the mother post about making pineapple vinegar. It got me thinking, could any pure fruit juice be turned to a vinegar? If I added some yeast to get the fermentation going, then added a mother, could I get, say, pomegranate vinegar (just for an example)?

    Well, I am still waiting for a decent sized mother to form on my first small batch. I was impatient and kept examining it, so I think I drowned the first baby mother (!), but I THINK another is forming.

    How would you know when to remove the breathable cover and add a lid? I’m scared I’m going to dehydrate the mother, but I’m not sure how to tell if it’s finished fermenting.

    Thank you very much for all the information on the topic! It’s really fascinating! And useful!

Share Your Thoughts

