Quilting

Early Saturday morning, since the kids weren’t going to let me sleep in any way, I got the idea to put to use a bunch of 5 inch squares I was kindly given by my Grandmother. What use could be more obvious for a bunch of small squares than a quilt?!  We have a small stack of handmade quilts made, lovingly for one or another of the kids, by a handful of relatives who are all wonderful quilters. These quilts see a lot of use! Noah, Ezra and Ishmael each have one on their beds. The rest of them are in frequent rotation for things like tents, picnics etc. Plus, small quilts make a great place to change, or just cuddle, a baby. Even though I’m nowhere near as skilled at quilting as my relatives I’ll get in some practice now. Perhaps someday, if this quilt survives its use, it’ll be passed on in a long tradition of family handmade items. If it doesn’t make it at least that means it saw some use and what could possibly be better than that?

  Half way there. DSCN5724

mossy_stone

sharing this post with:

KCCO

6 thoughts on “Quilting

    • I was trying to use only those colors but I also needed enough squares to finish the top. I was thinking it would be for Molly, although Ishi is trying to lay claim to it. He keeps telling me I’m sewing it for him 🙂

  1. Oh, it looks like it will be a beautiful and cheery quilt! I love that you’re able to work with something your Grandma gave you, that’s very special.

Share Your Thoughts

