KCCO/Yarn Along {Reuse}

Sometimes the easiest way to have a new knit garment is to reuse a knit that’s already made. I was given a sweater and a pair of handmade socks that didn’t fit anyone in the family. Rather than tossing them aside I decided to turn them into something new. After removing the sleeves (sewing the armholes closed) and cutting the top of the sweater down into a waistband the sweater fit nicely as a skirt. The sleeves I made into legwarmers.

DSCN3536As for the socks I transformed them into wrist warmers. I cut off the toes, which were quite worn and darned once already anyways. Then I was able to unravel the socks. I left about an inch above the heel, before the ribbing. Using a small crochet hook I worked a simple bind off. This part is the wrist warmer’s bottom.

DSCN3546

DSCN3543mossy_stone

KCCO

Yarn Along

Frugal Days Sustainable Ways

Farmgirl Friday

10 thoughts on “KCCO/Yarn Along {Reuse}

  1. Very cool – you would never think those were socks in their previous life! Now I just need to find the time to learn how to do these crafty things!

Share Your Thoughts

