Bees- Inspecting the hive

Every two weeks I check on my bees. My favorite part of a hive inspection is the smell of the smoker, a sweet smokey smell, reminding me of honeycomb and wood fire. Second to that is the walk to the hive through our hayfield. The variety of plants, insects and animals are endless. Third to that is finding the queen – a “find it” challenge not too unlike Where’s Waldo.

I took along my camera on the latest walk/hive inspection:

DSCN2727

DSCN2730DSCN2735DSCN2742DSCN2747

DSCN2751

DSCN2767

Milkweed

And the purpose of this journey – the hive:

DSCN2458DSCN2451 DSCN2444You can see some of the larvae in this one (above). Especially in the upper left hand corner.

DSCN2761

DSCN2755 DSCN2754The Queen. Towards the top of the photo, look for the large body and short wings.

The hive is doing well. Inspections are starting to feel routine and a little bit like I know what I’m doing. A little bit.

mossy_stone

Share Your Thoughts

