Tapping is over; mud season is here.

DSCN0334

Tapping for this year is over. Technically it’s still the season in our neck of the woods however the barn is due for imminent removal so this year we’re cutting it short.

DSCN0577

DSCN0592

The boys and I went around collecting the last of the sap to have dripped into our buckets. The color of the sap varied bucket to bucket but overall it has darkened – a sure sign the season is coming to an end. We’ve had quite a haul.While it’s hard to say for sure, due to already having doused many pancakes, waffles and sausages in syrup, but I’d say we’ve produced a gallon this year.

DSCN0571

End of the season sap waiting to be boiled down.

DSCN0258

Early season sap waiting to be collected.

DSCN0326

This is my “boiling it down” set up (sans snow which I normally pile up around the buckets to help keep them cold). That’s  an electric pressure cooker which I set to “saute”. That keeps the sap simmering away. Every so often I add a bit more sap and make sure the pressure cooker hasn’t automatically switched over to “keep warm”. Once the sap has cooked down quite a bit I bring the sap in, to the stove, to finish  it off.

DSCN0541

DSCN0537

Once the syrup has reach the proper temperature I strain it through a jelly bag to remove any last impurities. Then I bottle it  into sterilized jars, or refrigerate or freeze.

DSCN0525

DSCN0552

Jars cooling.

DSCN0563

A batch.

I can already tell the maple syrup won’t last us all year but it will certainly make a dent. We’ve certainly had a lot of fun throughout the process!

mossy_stone

sharing this post with:

sustainable ways, simple lives thursday,monday barn hop

8 thoughts on “Tapping is over; mud season is here.

    • I’ve only made maple syrup thus far but I have read that tapping birches is very common and and that you can tap walnut trees too. There may be others. The flavor would be different though-good or bad I’m not sure. Maple is certainly lovely!

  1. Wow, the syrup looks soooooo good! Do you just can it in a water bath? I wish I had some trees that I could get sap from, but alas I live in Californial. I found you on Frugal Days, Sustainable Ways blog hop. I really like your blog and I am bookmarking it! Thanks.

    • Amazingly you don’t have to process maple syrup in a hot water bath even. You just need hot (so the jars don’t break when you pour in the hot syrup) sterile jars. Cap ’em and cool. Thanks for stopping by!

Share Your Thoughts

