Honey Mead

Lately I’ve been experimenting with honey mead. The (really simple) directions and inspiration came from Sandor Katz’s The Art of Fermentation (of course!). I went with a honey to water ratio of 1:6. This seems to be a good amount. I use Really Raw Honey as it contains natural yeasts.

DSCN8892Then for fun and flavor I add in some dehydrated lemon- enough to cover the surface.

DSCN8903And a sprig of rosemary. That’s it.  Although the flavoring options are endless, and optional!

DSCN8911

DSCN8912Then you just let it sit and wait for the bubbling to begin. Stir it up at least once a day (more frequently in warmer temperatures) to disperse the natural yeasts and help ensure no mold gets started on the floating additions.

DSCN8919The bubbling will get going and be pretty active for about a week to 10 days.

DSCN8959 DSCN8960I wait till I notice the bubbling subsiding. Then I strain out the lemon slices, rosemary and all the tiny waxy bits from the honey and bottle. I like a lot of carbonation so I let it build up a little before putting the bottles in the fridge. These are still in an early mead stage and don’t contain much alcohol. I also poured some mead off into my airlock jar. Only a quart because that’s the size jar I have.

DSCN9050I let it sit for, I dunno, maybe a month before I really wanted my jar back so I transferred it to another bail top jar. It’s still aging but it definitely has a drier more wine like taste compared to the fresh mead.

Then start a new (larger) batch!

DSCN9066mossy_stone

sharing this post with:

Wildcrafting Wednesday, Frugally Sustainable, Fat Tuesday, Real Food Wednesday, Simple Lives Thursday

17 thoughts on “Honey Mead

  1. Love the idea of making mead – have you made it lots and how does it taste? I think we need to get bees first and have a plentiful supply of honey. Have made elderflower cordial and blackberry whiskey and very tempted by more home-made tipples.

    • Blackberry whiskey! My now that is something. I’ve made a few batches of the mead now. I haven’t tried any other flavorings yet- kinda waiting for some free foraged inspiration. It tastes good. It reminds me of water kefir with a beer yeast-iness. I’m going to continue to age some just to see how it develops. And Yes, we also definitely need to get some bees around here!

  2. In my country we have a tradition that everyone makes (or buys) mead for first of may. I usually make it also for the midsummer party, but little bit differently than in may. I found your blog through Monday’s Homestead Barn Hop and I must say Ireally like your style! Bautiful pictures of your family and life 🙂 Sorry if I mede some mistakes with writing… Aila, Finland

    • Thanks so much for stopping by! I was recently reading about making Sima, which I’ll be trying out for our own little first of May celebration. I just love so many of Finland’s traditions and it’s cultural style; coincidentally I’m part Finnish too. I really appreciate your comment. Cheers!

  3. Pingback: Sunday Snippets

  4. Pingback: Breakfast Lab » Middle Ages Potluck and Other Happenings

  5. This is wonderful I will definitely try your method. For the first 10 days it seems you did not use an air lock but possibly some muslin covering, is this correct? Do you think fresh lemon slices would work as well?

Share Your Thoughts

