A Quilt for Me {KCCO}

DSCN9397I started this quilt last year, or maybe it was the year before. Piecing and then quilting each square has certainly taken a while but I really like where it’s heading. Some of the fabric is salvaged from old clothes,some were scrap pieces from friends and a few I even brought, but all of them are favorites. I had a blue and white quilt from my mother for ages.I can’t even remember when I first had the quilt but despite my attempts to patch it said quilt has disintegrated into rags. Hence this one.

DSCN9403The best part isn’t that I’ll have a new quilt; the best part is the making. Whether it’s picking out fabric or deciding where to place each square we’re making it. The boys are eager to lend their opinions and being the guy who lifts and lowers the sewing machine’s foot as we rotate the square to quilt  it is awesome. Plus, it’s like magic.

DSCN9427

DSCN9386Twenty squares down. I’m not really sure how many more we’ll go. I’d love a large blanket -like queen sized- but that’s also pretty huge! We’ll see, after all it’s all in the making.

mossy_stone

7 thoughts on “A Quilt for Me {KCCO}

    • I plan on just sewing the squares together (after I figure out which order to put them in). They’re not that thick. Then I’ll attach the back and avoid that struggle with trying to squeeze a whole quilt thru my little sewing machine! It takes a little longer up front but the quilting part is done too.

  1. your squares are so pretty! I’ve never quilted before either, but the method of quilting each square as you go seems much more manageable than trying to fit the whole thing through the sewing machine at the end – what a good idea.

Share Your Thoughts

