Pineapple Vinegar

Finally a way to use up all those otherwise inedible pineapple peels! Once again, I followed Sandor Katz’s instructions for Fruit Scrap Vinegar (found in either Wild Fermentation or in The Art of Fermentation; I also used this method with apple scraps for ACV ). Essentially use 1/4 cup sugar to 1 Qt of water, plus fruit scraps. The possibilities are endless!

Here’s how the pineapple fruit scrap vinegar went:

Cut upΒ  the fruit peel; add to the sugar-water.

DSCN8564

Remember to cover the top – I use fabric scraps held on with the O ring. I keep the lid piece nearby as it’s important to stir the pineapple up – daily, if not more frequently. Shaking/ stirring helps to keep the pineapple immersed. As the fermenting progresses the bubbles will push the peels further up above the surface. Peels above the surface are at a risk for mold; the longer it pokes up above the liquid the more likely mold will show up – especially in the warmer months.

DSCN8569

Before long signs of fermentation will appear!

DSCN8574The liquid will also darken. This fermenting of the peels will take about a week. Strain. Katz’s says to ferment 2-3 weeks longer for your finished product. However I like to add a mother of vinegar to ensure and speed things along.

DSCN8588 DSCN8653

A new mother quickly started forming.The pineapple vinegar mother is a lovely pale ever so slightly yellow white.

DSCN8659 Nine days later the vinegar smells – well like pineapple vinegar and the mother has grown quite thick. What to do with the mother now? Save it as a back up, use it to make more vinegar or make some nata. DSCN8782Time to strain and bottle!

I like to use a coffee filter because it catches just about all the sediment. It can take a while and maybe even a second filter. Carefully gathering up the edges of the filter and holding it up can speed things up considerably.

DSCN8787 DSCN8809Use now and/or age. I’m still looking for recipes that call for pineapple vinegar so if you have any – please share! In the meantime I’ve tried a marinade I found here. Combine 1/2 cup oil, 1/2 cup pineapple vinegar, 1 clove minced garlic, a tablespoon chili flakes,salt and pepper. The original recipe calls for a small handful of chopped fresh cilantro. I didn’t have any so I substituted some parsley.

DSCN8970 DSCN8977Use this marinade for chicken, fish or pork; I went with chicken. It was good. Tender, sweet but also a touch sour and spicy. I used my broiler but grilling would be the way to go. I’m going to let the vinegar age a bit then try it in a vinaigrette.

mossy_stone

sharing this post with:

fat tuesday,Β  traditional tuesday, make your own monday, real food wednesday, gluten-free wednesday, slightly indulgent tuesday, frugal days sustainable ways, simple lives thursday, fight back friday, farmgirl friday

27 thoughts on “Pineapple Vinegar

  1. IF you add some cloves and cinnamon, This makes a great pineapple drink called Tepache.
    I have some fermenting on my counter right now. You just catch it before it turns to vinegar.

  2. that sounds like it would be delicious! i dont really understand if the cloth and the “o” ring leave the vinegar open to the air? thank you!

  3. Pingback: Nata | mossgrownstone

  4. I have made pineapple vinegar in the past. The first time I *LOVED* it, but ended up with a rancid moldy mess the second time. Your post has inspired me to try it again, it’s so versatile! Thanks for your post.
    ~Taylor-Made Ranch~
    Wolfe City, TX

    (visiting from Homestead Barn Hop)

      • Of course it lends a citrus effect when using in cooking and that’s the primary way I used it, but my cleaning supply cabinet is primarily baking soda and vinegar. My husband HATES the smell of vinegar so I’ve infused the regular vinegar with herbs a few times and that’s helped, but the pineapple vinegar was actually pleasantly scented. I had hated all the plastic bottles I had to lug home when I purchased vinegar and was thrilled that it was easily made with scraps I was going to place in the compost. The first time it worked great, the second time it molded & I had to throw it away. I’d love go give it another go now. πŸ™‚ ~TMR~

        • Great idea. I also use primarily baking soda and vinegar to clean and my husband hates the smell of vinegar too. I soak orange peels in vinegar and that has helped with the vinegar smell a lot and it seems like the orange infused vinegar cleans better. Hmm it looks like have some more experimenting to do πŸ™‚

  5. Pingback: Nourishing Traditions: Latin American Sauerkraut {with pineapple vinegar} | mossgrownstone

  6. I just started a batch of pineapple vinegar and there is some white mold floating on top of the liquid. One of the pieces of pineapple rind is sticking out of the liquid. Do I have to throw this batch away now or since its been fermenting for a week, can i just strain and discard the peels and continue?

    • Is the mold on the pineapple rind sticking out or is it actually forming on top of the liquid? If it’s fully removable you might able to save it but if it’s already on the liquid then the mold spores will regrow.

  7. I would think you can use this in dressings, such as a pineapple-orange, or pineapple-lime dressing, or a marinade for scallops or shrimp, with lemongrass, jalapeno, lime or ginger.

  8. I found your recipe on Pinterest as I was searching for other recipes for pineapple vinegar, besides the one that is in Sally Fallon’s Nourishing Traditions. I plan to use it to make curtido (also in the same book), but there’s several links on Pinterest to recipes for curtido served as an accompaniment to pupusas. I have already set up my bowl to ferment, and following her directions, I added red pepper flakes and oregano. But I think I’ll strain it all and restart it – I am sure I could use it many more ways without those spices added!

  9. love this! I actually looked up your recipe because I was looking to make my own for a curtido recipe. Curtido is a slaw eaten in El Salvador that is chucked full of vegetables to put on everything from tacos to sandwhices and even hot dogs. Check it out!

Share Your Thoughts

