ACV- Appearances Vary!

Let’s take a look at a few jars of ACV (apple cider vinegar). Note how their appearance varies. The lightest colored one (on the left) is made from apple scraps (peels,cores etc.) the others are made from store brought juice of varying brands. After it ages a bit more I look forward to comparing tastes.

The next jar – as you can see below – was started 8-23 so it’s still aging. Then (still going left) there’s the jar I’ve been using ACV from. Usually I pour off the whole batch and get another going but for now I’ve been pouring some off into the smaller jar. Then there’s the jar of extra mothers.

The appearance of ACV can vary quite a bit, as do the mothers. Some are thin and filmy, some are nice thick clean-looking mothers, others look a bit more haggard and maybe have a layer of sediment on them.

It’s all good.

See this post and start your own mother: Apple Cider Vinegar {making a mother}.

mossy_stone

16 thoughts on “ACV- Appearances Vary!

  1. I have a number of ACV experiments going and am not sure what to expect since this is my first year at making ACV. My ACV from peels/cores is a little slimy throughout (two containers with each having the slight slime, they have very different color and different smell). The slime is not bad, but certainly the liquid is not the consistency of Braggs liquid or any vinegar I have ever seen. There is a thin layer forming on the top, which I assume is the mother.

    My ACV made with apple juice mixed with Braggs all have large mothers growing at the bottom and the liquid is not at all slimy.

    Is the slight slime to the liquid typical of an ACV made from peels/cores? Anything I should do other than just let it continue to sit. I haven’t found anyone on internet forums talking about the slimy consistency. Any help appreciated.

    • Hmm. I don’t know what to think. I’ve never experienced any slime. Your description makes me think of an experience I had with maple syrup fermenting and turning slimy/ropey. That was due to a certain type of bacteria. If you figure it out I’d love to know.Best of Luck!

    • Ah yes! Me as well! I’ve dabbled in making wine vinegars but just tried a giant batch of turning apple cider peels into ACV — and it’s also very slimy and gelatinous. A friend thinks this may be pectin, but these are pretty ripe apples? What happened to your batch? Anyone else experience this? Should I add a brewer’s pectin enzyme or just leave it?

  2. Pingback: Apple Cider Vinegar {making a mother} | mossgrownstone

  3. Happy to have found this info!
    I’ve just decanted my first batch last night & I put what I thought was the mother in a separate jar w/ vinegar. It was a milky white, slimy but very firm consistency, about 1/4″ thick at best. My brother said it wasn’t a mother, just white mold. (I thought mold was fuzzy) I used a very large beverage jar w/ a spigot (maybe 3 gallons, ended up w/ a gallon & a half.) my mis step in this process was that I left the fruit in the liquid for 3 weeks, before straining. A.D.D., a nice dark hiding place, & twins will do that, I guess…hahaha
    Anyhow, my questions are:
    1. Will that fact that I left the fruit (peels, seeds, & cores) in too long affect the process?
    2. Can the mother be thinner & milky white? ( I wish I could post a pic!)
    3. The whole process has been about 6 weeks. Should I have given it more time? If so, should I combine everything back in a jar & put my mother thing back with , in hopes that a new mother will form?
    A lot of info & questions, I know. Thanks in advance.

    • Ok, it sounds like you indeed have a mother! They do start off quite thin, a film really,that slowly thickens and can be inches thick if left long enough (the size doesn’t matter, although too thick of a mother can be more prone to molding). Mold is what you don’t want. Leaving the fruit in too long increases your chances of mold growing. If you have already removed the fruit with out seeing any signs of mold you don’t have to worry. You might want to age your ACV but you don’t need to add anything to it. Given enough time, your strained ACV will grow a mother as well (faster if you don’t strain it). I hope I addressed all your questions, I can’t see your comment while I reply (and sorry I took so long to get back to you).
      Good luck ( taste the ACV once in awhile you’ll know when it takes like vinegar)!

  4. I have green mold 1/2 ” thick on top of my cider vinegar. It’s been in the cupboard, covered, for about a month. Is it safe?

  5. Hi. I’m in the middle of my first act experiment. I removed the solid fruit in a Callender but there was a thick puree that went with it. I tried to strain this in a wire strainer but it just stopped up and wouldn’t let anything thru. So I ended up with 4 jars with the bottom third being this puree. I inoculated with a couple of Tbs of Braggs in each and it’s forming the white film on top.
    BUT…I’m afraid I might get that slimy crap the other person mentioned by leaving the puree in. Should I mess with it now or just decant the thinner liquid under the mother with a suction tube when the time comes…which will be when.

Share Your Thoughts

