Vermicomposting

(thanks for the photo Noah)

You wouldn’t believe how excited I am to finally get my hands on some red worms!
I plan to put them to work composting manure, paper products and any food scraps our livestock doesn’t eat . Then, when their population builds, we’ll have some great protein to feed the chickens.

I need to build a larger bin for them but for now we have them in a fish bowl which makes for a handy worm farm to study.

mossy_stone

sharing with:

Simple lives thursday fightbackfridaywhite wolf summit,




7 thoughts on “Vermicomposting

    • I know what you mean but I can’t feel too guilty about raising worms for chickens when we raise meat rabbits and pigs for ourselves to eat. I prefer to think of it as turning what would otherwise be just a byproduct into something useful. And it helps us to save money and be more self sufficient.

  1. Great photo! It’s neat to see your kids getting involved in the process too.

    I’m sure you probably already know this, but just in case … You don’t want to give your worms animal manure while the animals de-worming medications are still active. 🙂

    I too have red worms, and enjoy the new experience.

Share Your Thoughts

