Homemade Chocolate Covered Coconut Bars

Maybe walking pass the aisle of heart shaped boxes is getting to me.

I had to make some candy. I’ve been intending to make some homemade peanut butter cups but I didn’t have all the ingredients on hand. I did have some chocolate chips and coconut tho,- and you can’t go wrong with chocolate and coconut.These use white sugar (could be replaced with honey perhaps) so they’re no so much a real food but at least they are HF corn syrup and preservative free.

The first step to making chocolate covered bars is to assemble the coconut bar filling and baked them. Press in almonds (use soaked and dehydrated nuts if possible) and let cool. I really like the almonds as the chocolate is so sweet but I left some plain for the not-so-much-of-a-nut-fan folks. I’d also make them smaller- like half the size.

Coat the cooled bars in melted chocolate and cool at least 4 hours to allow the chocolate to re-harden.

Or dig in….

Chocolate Covered Coconut Bars

1 (14 oz) package shredded coconut, sweetened preferred

1 jumbo egg white or 2 small egg whites                        2 cups chocolate chips

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract                                                       Almonds

1/3 c (or use up to 1/2c) sugar

1/2 tsp salt

Combine all but chocolate chips. Form bars and bake till golden around the edges. Press in almonds, if using. Let cool. Coat in melted chocolate (use 2 forks). Let sit till firm to touch-least 4 hours.

mossy_stone

sharing this post with:

mouthwatering monday, homemaker monday, homesavvyatoz, melt in your mouth monday, made at home mondays, hearth and soul , fat tuesday, slightly indulgent tuesday, food for thought, weekend gourmet, real food wednesday, what’s cooking wednesday, gluten free wednesday, frugal days sustainable ways, healthy2day, simple lives thursday, two maids a baking, fight back friday, farmgirl friday, sunday school

18 thoughts on “Homemade Chocolate Covered Coconut Bars

  1. Oh my! These look so gorgeous! I was wondering how to do these chocolate & coconut bars. Thanks to you now I can make them for my hubby! Yeah! 🙂

  2. These look amazing! I will be surprising my daughter with this delicious candy for Valentine’s Day! Thanks for sharing this with the hearth and Soul Hop.

  3. I would love to make these, but two questions: What size package of coconut, and how much salt? I have all the ingredients but I just want to be sure. Thanks – I can’t wait to give them a try for myself!

  4. I’m trying these tomorrow, they just look sooo good! I’m so glad you dropped by and I really welcomed this contribution last week to the Seasonal Celebration Linky- a great collection of seasonal recipes, homemaking, crafts, homeschooling and motherhood thank you so much!
    Seasonal Celebration is live once more, so feel free to pop over and join this wonderful celebration of creative talent! http://naturalmothersnetwork.com Rebecca x

  5. I scaled down the recipe to half and baked it in the electric oven for 11 minutes and it came out perfect.What brand of chocolate chips did you use?I used Acme brand and noticed that when the chocolate had hardened (in the freezer) and I touched it,some of the chocolate melted slightly on my fingers.

Share Your Thoughts

