Chèvre Stuffed, Bacon Wrapped Chicken

I’m been meaning share more from Nourishing Traditions but lately most of the recipes I’ve been using from Nourishing Traditions have been simple and basic: sauté in butter, season to taste with salt and pepper and maybe a splash of lemon juice. Simple, good but not really enough for a post. But this chicken, stuffed with herbed chèvre, wrapped in bacon is definitely post worthy. I saw a similar recipe on Pinterest and later when it was time to get dinner going and I had some freshly made goat cheese and chicken on hand…well one thing lead to another.

First I pounded the chicken to make it uniformly flat and just a little bigger so it would be easier to roll up. Then I mixed up some of the goat cheese I made earlier with some oregano and rosemary I have growing in the kitchen and some salt and pepper. This time I made a simple goat cheese from some yogurt I made from our goats’ milk and strained until it was thick. It was a tad more soft and spreadable than the somewhat chalky bars of goat cheese sold at the supermarket. Store brought goat cheese will work too- just cut a few slices and season (or buy pre-seasoned). Then roll it up and wrap two pieces of bacon around each piece of chicken and secure with toothpicks. The bacon not only lends flavor but helps keep the goat cheese inside.

The next step is to brown it on the stove top- and preheat your oven to 350F. I love my cast iron and it works well for the transfer to the oven. Otherwise brown the chicken and transfer to an oven-safe dish. Bake in the oven till done.

Then serve. I made wild rice and green beans. As you can see in the photo below the goat cheese and herb is absorbed and infuses the chicken with flavor but there isn’t a separate layer inside like when chicken is stuffed with ham and cheese. And if anyone doesn’t like goat cheese you can always skip the goat cheese and just wrap with bacon. Although, in my opinion, they’d be missing out.

Enjoy!

mossy_stone

sharing with:

simple lives thursday, fightback friday, freaky friday, farm girl friday,homestead barn hop, monday mania, make your own! monday, melt in your mouth monday, fat tuesday, slightly indulgent tuesday, hearth and soul hop, scratch cookin, weekend gourmet carnivalclever chicks, ,real food wednesdaygluten-free wednesdaythis chick cookswildcrafting wednesday,healthy2dayfrugally sustainable,


17 thoughts on “Chèvre Stuffed, Bacon Wrapped Chicken

  1. I will have to try that. I too have made the more simple recipes in NT. I have been meaning to go back and check out some of the more creative ones now that I am not as overwhelmed with learning the ins and outs of real food (like I was at the beginning). Great find. I am definitely going to try this. mm-mm.

    • My husband is one of those not so crazy about goat cheese people and he had to admit this chicken is good! Me- I love goat cheese- on crackers, salad, in omelets, wraps…straight up by the spoonful :P

  2. Pingback: Forbidden Rice | Jaime's Kitchen

Share Your Thoughts

