Fermenting

Now that we’re getting settled I figured it was time to get the ferments going again. I had brought a few things along that were “in progress” such as apple cider vinegar, preserved lemons, preserved limes (which are all rather low maintenance), and some much neglected dairy kefir. But it was time to attend to them and venture once more into fermenting veggies.

I had tried making fermented carrots before from Nourishing Traditions but they where so salty I couldn’t eat them. I even made another batch halving the salt but they were still too salty and more of a chore than a joy to get through. So I was feeling a little leery about wasting the time and effort and veggies. Then I read (parts of) The Art of Fermentation by Sandor Ellix Katz. I also have his book Wild Fermentation but I much prefer The Art of Fermentation; it really made me want to get in the kitchen and get a jar going. And the next thing I knew there I was with a jar full of chopped veggies. And the best part is that even though I wasn’t able to have a garden this year every single vegetable was given to me by a friend who grew it in their garden. How sweet is that?!

Here’s what went in: carrots, radishes,yellow summer squash,garlic (some fresh picked, some   that was starting to sprout), chard stems, a small green tomato, basil. How heavenly it smells, how delicious it tastes!

I immediately started another jar this time zucchini spears with garlic.

Again, success! As my oldest Noah said “they’re just so good. I want to eat them all up.(followed by a lip-smacking slurp I can’t replicate)”. So I did it. I started a batched of shredded carrots.

And for a little compare and contrast I started a jar or pickled beets with onion in raw apple cider vinegar.

We haven’t tested these last two yet but the beets look lovely and the carrots, with a little help of the brine from the first batch of mixed veggies, are smelling wonderful. Next up? A jar full of basil! Seriously, it tastes like licorice once it’s fermented. Divine!

mossy_stone

sharing this post with:

fat tuesday, scratch cooking tuesday,weekend gourmet, what’s cookin wednesday,real food wednesday, gluten-free wednesday, this chick cooks, wildcrafting wednesday, healthy2day, frugally sustainable, simple lives thursday,homestead barn hop, monday mania, make your own! monday, melt in your mouth monday



10 thoughts on “Fermenting

  1. I was wondering if you could ferment mix veggies so your post answered my question. found you via Wildcrafting Wednesday.

    Stop by my blog Friday for the next edition of the Carnival of Home Preserving! Would love to have you by and link up this post or other great preserving posts of yours.

  2. I forgot to mention that in the zucchini spears with garlic I added an oak leaf to keep it crispy. I should have made two jars (one with the oak leaf one without) to compare crispiness- seems to have worked tho.

Share Your Thoughts

