Cooking from Nourishing Traditions :: Chicken with Cream Sauce

As you might know, Nourishing Traditions by Sally Fallon is more than just a cookbook. All too often I open up my copy of NT with the intent of perusing the recipes; instead I find myself reading the articles. I’ve learned a lot but I’ve found that I haven’t made that many of the recipes from Nourishing Traditions. So, starting with this post, I will (try to) regularly make a recipe from NT and post my results. Today’s  post will be from the poultry section (page 281): Chicken with Cream Sauce, a variation on Basic Baked Chicken.

Now the original recipe calls for one chicken cut in pieces, brushed with

  • 2 Tlb Dijon mustard
  • 2 Tlb melted butter (or oil)              – mix these three together
  • 1 Tlb dried tarragon

and baked. However, in an effort to speed things along and lessen the number of pans to wash I opted to use boneless chicken breasts, sliced then brushed and sauteed. This time around I also added in some chopped mushrooms to saute. Once the chicken is cooked either put it aside while making the sauce or cook the chicken a bit less and finish cooking it while the sauce reduces.

The sauce:

  • 1/2 cup dry white wine
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • 1 cup piima cream or creme fraiche or sour cream
  • 1 Tlb gelatin (optional)
  • salt and pepper

Mix the above together, stirring to incorporate any drippings. Cook till the sauce has thickened. If you put the chicken aside add it back in and make sure it’s hot then serve. I think it goes well with egg noodles or over rice.

I’ve made this 2 or 3 times now. This last time I didn’t have any dry white wine on hand so I used the juice from the preserved lemons to taste and left out the additional salt.

I like this recipe more than I thought I would. It’s a delicate lightly creamy sauce, a touch sweet from the tarragon yet balanced just enough by the mustard. I love the sauce over rice. So creamy -almost risotto-y. I liked the addition of mushrooms as well. My 4 and 2 year olds like it but the husband not so much- he’s not really a light slightly sweet creamy sauce kind of guy.

I really recommend going stove top on this recipe. NT calls for a 2 hour baking time for the chicken before making the sauce, using sliced boneless breasts (and my pressure cooker to make the rice in 10 mins) this meal is an easy 30 min meal.

mossy_stone

this post is part of: mouthwatering monday, homemaker monday, monday mania, real food 101, home savvy a to z, melt in your mouth monday, make your own! monday, homestead barn hop, make-it yourself monday, traditional tuesday, fat tuesday , hearth and soul, slightly indulgent tuesday, food for thought, weekend gourmet, frugal days sustainable ways, real food wednesday, what’s cooking, gluten-free wednesday, whole food wed, these chicks cooked, healthy2day, fight back friday,farmgirl friday, fresh bites friday, freaky friday,

15 thoughts on “Cooking from Nourishing Traditions :: Chicken with Cream Sauce

  1. Just the picture makes me want to make this. YUMMY!!!

    My husband might be with yours on the whole sweet/creamy sauce, but I have to try it to find out. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Thanks for linking your great post to FAT TUESDAY. This was very interesting! Hope to see you next week!

    Be sure to visit RealFoodForager.com on Sunday for Sunday Snippets – your post from Fat Tuesday may be featured there!
    http://realfoodforager.com/fat-tuesday-january-17-2012/

    Share your great fermented food recipes at my Probiotic Food Linky – open through Februray 6, 2012.
    http://realfoodforager.com/probiotic-food-challenge-linky/

  3. Pingback: Menu Plan: 22 October to 28 October - a humble place.

  4. Pingback: Menu Plan: 30 September to 6 October - a humble place

Share Your Thoughts

