Using Preserved Lemons

Ummm..opening a jar of preserved lemons….

I’ve been loving having these on hand! And, as soon as I can, I’m preserving some limes.  The fruit and the juice is so versatile and -added bonus-, as long as you don’t heat it, they are an easy way to incorporate  fermented goodness into your diet.

I’ve experimented a little since making the preserved lemons in this post. Most frequently I use some of the juice instead of fresh or bottled lemon juice- adjusting for salt. Some examples are salad dressing, dips, aioli, guacamole, really anytime the recipe calls for a little lemon juice. When preparing a dish where everything is getting blended smooth anyways- like hummus or baba ghanoush a small piece of lemon (peel and all) can be blended right in.

The peel is really just bursting with flavor. I used it several times in place of zest including twice while making muffins-once in the muffins; it worked out great. And I also tried it out in the sugar and zest topping. To replace the zest I minced up the peel very fine then mixed it in the sugar. This was baked on to form a crunchy lemony sweet top. It worked, however there was a slight hint saltiness occasionally. I’d say preserved lemons work great for baking but stick to using them where the recipe also calls for salt.

Use the peel, the juice or a paste (blend some preserved lemons smooth-watch out for seeds) to flavor veggies (potatoes, summer squash, spinach..), sauces, seafood (i.e. scallops sauteed with bits of lemon or baked with lemon juice, garlic etc ) or chicken- like in this marinade:

It’s a simple marinade: chopped preserved lemons in olive oil with a bit of garlic, a sprig of rosemary (chopped), a bit of black pepper.

Let sit for at least several hours, turning occasionally.

Then bake or grill till done.

5 minutes out of the oven and this is the only one left for a photo.

So there are some ways to use preserved lemons. I’m planning on using the limes similarly and especially with Mexican and Thai flavored meals.

mossy_stone

this post is shared with traditional tuesday, fat tuesday homesteadbarnhop, real food 101, monday mania, hearthandsoul,tasty tuesday, slightly indulgent tuesday, frugal days sustainable ways, real food wednesday, what’s cooking wednesday, gluten-free wednesday, simple lives thursday, homesavyatoz, make it yourself monday, food for thought, freaky friday,fresh bites, farmgirlfriday, fight back friday, pennywise platter,sunday school,friday food flicks, whole food wednesday, these chicks cooked, fill those jars friday

24 thoughts on “Using Preserved Lemons

  1. Hi, thanks for sharing this with Meatless Mondays. I was wondering, if we could change your photo of the chicken. I understand what you are sharing but a reader questioned the chicken listed. I can make the change if you give me permission. Thanks for your understanding.

  2. I’ve never used preserved lemons, but I’m sure they have a wonderful, concentrated flavour that really adds something special. Thank you for sharing this very informative and interesting post about preserved lemons, as well as your recipe for them, with the Hearth and Soul hop.

  3. I changed the photo of #21 and I added it to Let’s Do Brunch with the chicken. I hope that is all right. If either are a problem, get back to me and I will do whatever is necessary.
    I took down the other chicken recipe but did not want to put it on Let’s Do Brunch without your permission.
    Thanks again for linking up.

  4. Mossy thank you very much for placing this post at Natural Mothers Network’s linky: Seasonal Celebration! You helped make Seasonal Celebration a wealth of intelligent, creative and resourceful information and it’s been such a pleasure for me and many others to read through each post. I am really looking forward to seeing you again Sunday evening or Monday! Rebecca x

  5. Love these ideas on how to use preserved lemons. I’ve seen some recipes on how to make them, but I wasn’t sure how to go about using them. : )

    Thanks for sharing this with Fill Those Jars Friday. Hope to see you again later this week!

  6. Have enjoyed reading your blog. Thank for sharing your creativity.
    Season was here for Meyer Lemons and I posted a recipe for preserving and some suggestions for using them once cured.
    I enjoy your blog and wanted to share your work with my readers so I have linked this post to my blog.
    Thank again,
    Graham

  7. Pingback: How to Make Preserved Lemons | Odds & Hens

Share Your Thoughts

